Help! Water in front passenger footwell

Chat about your 6R/6C model Polos here!
DarrenR
New
Drives: Polo Match 1.2 TSI (2017)

Help! Water in front passenger footwell

Post by DarrenR »

Hi, first time post. I'll say straight up I am no car expert, but I've run into a bit of trouble and would really appreciate some insight.

I have a Polo Match Edition 1.2 TSI 2017 model, bought just over a year ago straight from VW themselves.

Recently I've discovered water under the carpet in the front passenger footwell. I've done some research online regarding the cause, and from what I can tell the scuttle vents are clear from leaf debris, and I've done a water hose test there and the windscreen to see where any water could be coming in. So far I can't see water coming in during that test. I also do not have a sunroof.

As you can see from the attached pictures, the water is saturated on the bottom of the fabric material, but it kind of leads up to the right behind all the controls/plastic. It all seems dry higher up the fabric. I've also read elsewhere it maybe something to do with the AC drain being clogged? I've tried to find the drain, but all I came across was this odd rubber bung and not a drain hole as such as seen in other examples.

It's been a very disappointing experience, as this is my first decent car! The VW garage wants £414.00 for a 3-hour investigation/test which just seems crazy to me. They say it usually takes a minimum of 3 hours, so goodness knows what the final bill will be if it goes on longer. Of course this issue would crop up a few months after my warranty ended :roll:

What's also annoying is I had some ridiculous condensation dripping inside back during the colder months, where a bit of fusty surface mould was found under the front passenger matt. Now I'm wondering if this water leak issue has been part of it all along!

If any more pics can be of help, let me know and I'll grab what I can. Thanks.