Android Auto Vs Tech Edition infotainment

Chat about your 2018+ AW/BZ model Polos here!
crofty21
New
Drives: 2019 Volkswagen Polo Se Tech Edition Tsi

Android Auto Vs Tech Edition infotainment

Post by crofty21 »

Morning all

New member here, with a problem I've been mulling over since getting our 2019 Polo Se Tech Edition a year ago.

It has a nice built in infotainment system that we use reasonably happily both for satnav duties and playing music from kids phones via Bluetooth.

We also have Android Auto available. The app (called Maps and Navigation) looks terrible and we've not really experimented.

Are we missing out on much/anything if we continue to ignore Android Auto and stick with the built in VW system please?

Any advice much appreciated.

Best wishes
Crofty
Norbreck21a
Silver Member

Re: Android Auto Vs Tech Edition infotainment

Post by Norbreck21a »

Never heard of "Maps and Navigation" ?

I use Android Auto all the time (in my MK7.5 Golf GTI) and I have 3 Navigation apps available. My default - Google Maps, then Waze (also owned by google), and I'm now trialling TomTom AmiGo (which looks pretty good). All 3 of these beats the built in Nav system in my view and each have their own strengths (all are free as well), and all look pretty polished (although to be fair whilst Waze functionally Is very good, the maps do look a little like they were drawn by a 5 years old. I think they took the simplification for driving purposes maybe a tad too far ?)
crofty21
New

Post by crofty21 »

Thank you. I did wonder if I'd missed something. I also wonder why I paid the extra for a tech edition when a simple phone does it better. I'm really so confused by something so basic!
crofty21
New

Post by crofty21 »

Thank you. I did wonder if I'd missed something. I also wonder why I paid the extra for a tech edition when a simple phone does it better. I'm rarely so confused by something so basic!
grazuncle2
Silver Member
Drives: Polo 1.0 TSI SE 2019

Post by grazuncle2 »