Newbie - about to buy a Polo

Chat about your 9n Polo (inc GT and Fun)
sunseaker
New

Newbie - about to buy a Polo

Post by sunseaker »

Hi I am new to Polos and would like to pick some brains.

We are considering buying a 1.2 Polo as a second car (all we can afford as cars are very expensive here in Portugal) and want to know if there are any major known problems we should know about.

I am aware of the sqeaky door seals and rattles in the centre of the dash. Have these now been fixed? Are there any other more major problems?

I noticed that the engine is quite noisy and harsh. I guess it's because it's a 3 cylinder.

Thanks

Gabs
bertJ
Getting There!

Post by bertJ »

:( We would never buy another Polo (after three older ones). Bought new 1.4 tdi in April this year. Gearbox failed at 600 miles, driver's seat broke and couldn't be tipped back at 800 miles. Car off road for three weeks. Severe oil leak at 3,000 miles - still not completely fixed. Still arguing with dealer about noisy door seals. VW customer services and most dealers are rubbish in GB.
There are so many other good small cars around today.
Drove the 1.2 petrol but found it lacking in torque compared to diesel.
If you must buy a Polo don't buy 3 door. Seats are awkward to tip and seat belts difficult to get at.
Scorpio1
Gold Member

Post by Scorpio1 »

Seems there is always a 'Friday' car in the bunch, but have to say that apart from the odd rattle my car has been 100%.

Loads of miles per tank, lots of good performance, and I get a fair few looks at it too.

Bottom line is, there is always one problem or another with most if not all cars and dealers, you only have to look round the net and forums to see that. Even Aston Martins have problems apparently, and they're hand built!