Extremely Wierd Revving Problem

Chat about your MKIV (6N) Polo
dequinn
New

Extremely Wierd Revving Problem

Post by dequinn »

Firstly, after much searching its great to see an active Polo community on the net. Kudos to everyone smart enough to use this board and the people who take to time to help others!

I am having a really strange problem with my Polo MKIV. It is a 1998 1.0L 4 door. Its my first car and I don't know a lot about car systems yet, but I have 8 years experience with bike engines so I know roughly whats going on.

I took the Polo to get serviced (with a trusted and competent mechanic) and when I got it back I found the revs where very high. More specifically I found that when I pushed in the clutch or slowed down the car to a stop, the revs would stay stuck at 2-2.2k for a good 10 or so seconds.
This went on for a number of weeks until last week I noticed something important- the revs stay high until the exact moment the speedo reaches zero. The instant the speedometer hits the 0 mark, the revs drop down to normal 800-900 idling speed.

To confirm whether or not the speedo had anything to do with it I ran two tests:
1.I took the car to the top of a hill, took it out of gear, took my feet away from the clutch and accelerator, and waited until the engine had completely settled to idle speed. I then took the handbrake off, and as soon as the car started to roll, the revs went up, quickly maxing out at 2.2k. They stayed that way until the car stopped. Again-This was with the engine in neutral and no acceleration pedal used.

2. I took the car to a long flat stretch of road and brought it up to 50mph.I then took the car out of gear and let it roll. The revs stayed stuck at 2.2k for the 30 or so seconds the car was rolling. The car came to a stop, and a second or two later, when the speedo had registered 0, the revs dropped straight down to normal idle speed.