Electrical Problem? (Polo 9N3)

Chat about your facelift 9n3 Polo - Including the 9N3 Polo GTI!
ruu1989
New

Electrical Problem? (Polo 9N3)

Post by ruu1989 »

Hi All,

Registered here because I've seen a lot of good responses which have helped me in the past. Normally, I'm fairly successful with Google, but for this I wasn't even sure *what* to Google.

I've got a 9N3 Polo TDi (80PS model if I remember correctly).

Starting back a few weeks ago, I returned to my car to find the trip counter reset, the clock reset, and the one-touch electric windows not working - however I could still open them by holding the switch.

After getting home, turning it 'off and on again' (I work in IT - it seemed like the sensible thing to do) it was fine. Set the clock and the windows were working again.

No other problems until more recently now. It's developed a habit of the ABS and handbrake lights coming on, emitting three rather loud beeps, and then the lights going off again. Naievely, the lights go off again, and the car seems fine, so I've been ignoring this to an extent.

Yesterday, this happened as I was leaving home, and the one-touch on the windows stopped working again (driver side only - passenger still working normally). Then, arriving at my destination and starting to park, the power steering went, and the light showed on the dash. Restarting the engine, the PS started working again immediately and parked up no issues. No problems on a further ~15 miles of driving I did yesterday.

On the way to Tesco this morning, three loud beeps again whilst leaving my home, and PS problem repeated when parking about half a mile later.

My concern now is if the PS cuts whilst turning, or other driving in the city, and I end up causing a serious accident if I don't 'catch' it in time.

I got the car from a 'real' VW dealer in Oxford - and I have a 1 year warranty for parts and labour. Any ideas what this might be, and, if the warranty will cover it?

Thanks for your time everyone.