Clutch clonk (after gear selection) ... 6C

Chat about your 6R/6C model Polos here!
madjam6rc
New
Drives: 6RC (1.0 SE, 2014)

Clutch clonk (after gear selection) ... 6C

Post by madjam6rc »

Hi ... newbie here with a metallic clonk that I hear after gear selected, as clutch pedal being released. Wasn't sure which sub-forum to post in so initially posted here:

viewtopic.php?f=19&t=71218

The car is a 2014, 3 door 1.0 (60) SE, with 25k miles, full dealer history, 1 owner. Great car, just a concerning sound! (Please refer to above link for detail). Any other owners experienced this sound? Thanks!
RUM4MO
Bling Bling Diamond Member
Drives: B8 S4 & 6R/6C1 1.2TSI 110

Re: Clutch clonk (after gear selection) ... 6C

Post by RUM4MO »

It is fair enough posting that issue in this section as it should get better viewing as it could be only an issue with this version of Polo (and next?).

Welcome to the forum!

Something is going on in that area with my wife's August 2015 Polo 1.2TSI 110PS - I just have not worked out yet exactly where the noise is coming from.

There should be a few possibilities:- gearbox rear mounting or internal to the gearbox bellhousing meaning release sleeve assembly/clutch assembly or gearbox internals or drive shafts.

Some times even working out which area of the car it is coming from is difficult, blinking nuisance and I should try to locate it and either sort it properly or get the dealer to fob me off, which is probably why I have done nothing about it - ie I can't be bothered to go through the process of booking it in > doing without that car for a day > getting very apologetic guff from the service team > then travelling to collect the car, silly way of thinking maybe, but I've usually found that if you have a strange problem, you are on your own, dealership workshops are only okay at normal tasks or replacing large assemblies at huge prices if the car has died.