Please help: TPMS light on, EEPROM malfunction, VCDS no response from controller

Discuss In Car Electronics / Electrical Systems - use with caution!
6Reeprom
New
Drives: 2014 6R

Please help: TPMS light on, EEPROM malfunction, VCDS no response from controller

Post by 6Reeprom »

Hello, I decided to make a post in this forum after exhausting most other options, if one of you could save my life “I would appreciate it” would be an understatement.

So ever since I bought my 2014 6R Polo S, I have always had the TPMS light on, the guy I bought it from did tell me it was on but it was a system issue he couldn’t fix. It had passed every MOT since then except for my most recent one where it was marked as a major fault this time. I assume previous garages had been trying to help me but a functioning TPMS is a legal requirement now and I need this fixed asap to get on the road for work

(I’m a semi newbie wrapping my head around this so forgive me if I technically say something wrong)

Issue:

My TPMS light is on due to an EEPROM malfunction (C1146F2)
DTC 00612 it also says RKA_ERROR_CODE_INVALID_V_MAPING. This is all on my basic ELM diagnostics reader and a garage’s one too.

This TPMS solid yellow light is always on, even when I change the sensors whenever they go bad, so I’m almost certain its nothing to do with sensors not being OEM. I just use standard Bosch ones and it only leaves an EEPROM malfunction as a DTC. I’m assuming this is to do with the ECU and the way the data is handled by the ABS sensors.