1st car - polo mk2 or golf mk2?

Chat about your MKI or MKII Polo (86 and 86F)
snowman99
New

1st car - polo mk2 or golf mk2?

Post by snowman99 »

I'm getting my 1st car soon, can't decide what to get. Have been driving a borrowed 1.3l 1987 golf mk2, 3 doors, i quite like it. It seems to be able to do 70 with shaking all my teeth loose and goes fast enough for me, for now anyway...seems to handle nicely, given my limited experience..

Spoke to my garage, I need to ask in more detail, but they recommended a mk 2 polo. I've had a look at them, the 1.0 is cheap on insurance (£600) but apparently its reeealy slow, unstable, and im not sure it would really be ok/safe for motor driving at 70? The 1.3l is about £850 to insure. I'm 21, only passed my test a month ago, altho i have been a named driver for about 4 years. Is the 1.3l worth it?

also , would it be better to get the 3door golf if i go for the 1.3l? i prefer the looks of the golf, and can insure one for £800. Are they quite hard to come by? I've seen a lot of GTI's for sale, but not that many other ones.

looking for spend under £500 on something small, so any suggestions (that also don't cost a bomb to insure for me) would be great..
telboy
New

Post by telboy »

hi mate, having had a mk2 golf and now owning a mk2 polo i'd say go for the polo! it might not have the style of the golf but the 1.3 is as quick if not quicker than the golf(being lighter) it also handles quite well. all round an easy car to get on with i.e maintenance,running costs etc. hope thats of some help.
Mk2Adam
Platinum Member

Post by Mk2Adam »

i've never driven a golf so i can't compare i'm afraid but i know that the mk2 is a solid car and for sub £500 that's all you can ask for really. i never did commuting in my mk2 but whenever i did motorway driving i never felt out of place and that was only a 1litre :wink: