Can anyone reccomend an insurance company>?

Chat about your MKIV (6N) Polo
JoeG07
Gold Member

Can anyone reccomend an insurance company>?

Post by JoeG07 »

I'm 18 and my cars a 1.6 and has been lowered 60mm, with other cosmetic mods like lights, 16v bumper, alloys etc. I was insured with Barclays but then my t*t face dad cancelled the policy for me when i went to uni, 1 month off getting a years no claims. Fuming, i got straight on the phone to Barclays and asked to reinsure it, and they refused on the basis that its been "heavily modifed." Interfearing prick. Can any1 reccomend a company that will insure this and won't break the bank? I'm a student!

thanks
DanDiesel
Sponsor

Post by DanDiesel »

sounds harsh mate! feel for ya!

try liverpool victoria, tesco, bell, admiral, and when your 19 try Brentacre, they are tops!
CraigMK4
Silver Member

Post by CraigMK4 »

Well i'm 19, and i'm with HIC, get a quote... you'll see what i mean :wink: thats with mods declared, £900. but with 1 years NCB and 1 TSO.
DanDiesel
Sponsor

Post by DanDiesel »

oh yeah i forgot about HIC, they are good too!
iggy350
Silver Member

Post by iggy350 »

Pru
Biddle
Platinum Member

Post by Biddle »

I find just searching www.moneysupermarket.co.uk turns up some good prices.
1der
Gold Member

Post by 1der »

im with tesco.theyve been the cheapest so fa for me when it came to renewal
twistedl
Getting There!

Post by twistedl »

QUIN all the way I am with them and they dont care about mods and are v cheap (unless they increase your power)
NOZ
Platinum Member

Post by NOZ »

Would the guys who have declared mods know if the insurer would payout more if something was to happen for the mods or not? Some such as Bell and Elephant will charge more cos'v the risk but won't payout more then the standard car amount. Therefore you don't really get anything back for modifications, just pay them more for the extra risk.